Freedom of Speech- USA- REALLY??????

August 5, 2014 at 1:27 pm 7 comments

Who  I  Am - Chris Ritchey

Who I Am – Chris Ritchey

I do not agree with what you have to say, but I’ll defend to the death your right to say it.
or perhaps “I detest what you write, but I would give my life to make it possible for you to continue to write.” Voltaire

There is some “discussion” as to the actual attribution to Voltaire http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Voltaire but whomever interpreted those words or actually said them – they are very powerful words. Words, that a great many in this country and others who believe in freedom of speech” carry with them in their hearts.

Free Speech artwork - Christopher Ritchey

Free Speech artwork – Christopher Ritchey

But I ask you – WOULD YOU DEFEND TO THE DEATH THE RIGHT OF SOMEONE YOU DIDN’T AGREE WITH TO HAVE THEIR SAY?

Supposing you didn’t have to actually die to make your stand for the right of another to disagree or express a differing opinion ? Would you then enter into a fray – even though, although not death but, a verbal assault that would come with an , insulting, ridiculing and vicious back lash aimed at YOU for your defense of another’s opinion whether you were in agreement or not?

That is the question I am now asking myself – me of the supposed “higher principles” who has spouted off time and time again about “Freedom of Speech” – Freedom of thought “Freedom to Write”.

https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2011/11/21/do-you-wear-the-chastity-belt-of-censure-why-do-we-give-them-the-power/
https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2010/03/28/it-is-all-in-a-name-comment-or-commodity/
https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2011/08/01/the-duelists-weapons-of-choice-words-and-who-is-your-2nd/
https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2011/02/15/who-i-am-the-artwork-speaks-chris-ritchey/

Have I finally realized and acknowledged -I am a hypocrite? I talked a good game, got on my soap box time and time again – knowing that actually I never really made a difference but at least I registered my opinion and thoughts. . I had belief and passion but NOW – NOW in the world, so changed by the loss of my son – I am no longer passionate, no longer care or am I just beaten down by the uselessness of it all?

A recent situation in this tired and desperate City of Lorain has seen a seething , biting cat fight clawing at the right to have a differing opinion to the vocal majority.

This not so uninvolved bystander has watched as cyber bullying, on air bullying took the place of debate and I have stood by and watched as the rabid rhetoric of majority has pounced on the freedom of opinion and I have felt the ripple effect of it. It seems I won’t even stand up for myself so why should I make a stand for others .

Anti  Political Correctness Ad by  Chris Ritchey

Anti Political Correctness Ad by Chris Ritchey

Is it, as my son’s poster points out from a time when he himself was fighting for his own right of freedom of speech.

Speech can segregate you from everyone

that I am afraid of being alone????? – No! even that isn’t a good enough reason to stay away from the fray? I could be no more alone than my current situation of being locked in a world of hurt….. it isn’t that – I am at my lowest ebb – nothing people can say or do can hurt me more than the pain I already experience every waking moment .

So why don’t I, I who have the tools, to at least try to defend the rights of others? I look at my son’s artwork – he who was so passionate about patriotism , this country and freedom in all things and guilt comes crashing in – because I know he would have been disappointed in my lack of action – even if it makes no difference because – “at least you tried………..”

by Chris Ritchey   Freedom of Speech

by Chris Ritchey Freedom of Speech

To be continued … MAYBE

Entry filed under: a Cow -elle opinion, Blogging, Chris Ritchey, city of lorain, grief, hell is other people, media, notorious opponents of exactitude, opinion, writers and writing. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

August 3rd- perspective- Chris Ritchey Freedom of Speech — USA – REALLY?? PT 2

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. -Alan D Hopewell  |  August 5, 2014 at 6:50 pm

    the very fact that you have the will to pose the question tells me that you’re tired, but not beaten.

    a wee reminder may be in order….
    go to YouTube, punch up TODD RUNDGREN- JUST ONE VICTORY, and listen.
    You will hear Chris’ (and your) words in a different voice.

    STAY FROSTY.

  • 2. aka/mozart  |  August 5, 2014 at 8:47 pm

    there is no such thing as “free speech”..it always comes at a price..this is something I know about…lets see who rants here, on a blog where someone is held accountable.,,most are cowards. ha..awk!

  • 3. thatwoman  |  August 5, 2014 at 9:02 pm

    Debate: in the classical meaning of the word is to have a differing opinion based on perception, view point and facts – unfortunately in recent years debate on the internet has come down to name calling , personalized insults and rhetoric of view point.

    AND actually that is a problem I am facing with part two – I have a “personal dislike” based upon and experience with the “center piece” of the latest “bru hahah”

    I also know most people don’t READ the articles they just scan so my difficulty is

    One trying to write about the situation without getting into personal dislikes and making the post clear enough so even the scanners get the message I am trying to convey….. I wish my son was here he could say what I want visually with out a thousand words.

  • 4. aka/mozart  |  August 6, 2014 at 12:34 am

    well Loraine..i read your comment above…vacuumed the rugs and washed my kitchen floor..thinking clean floors would offer a clearer head..but it only leaves me to say…when all else fails..pour a glass of wine..and even perhaps another…I am on my way! 🙂 cheers and bottoms up!

  • […] ONE https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2014/08/05/freedom-of-speech-usa-really/ Would I defend your right to have a differing opinion? PART […]

  • […] ONE https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2014/08/05/freedom-of-speech-usa-really/ Would I defend your right to have a differing […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 182 other followers

August 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031