General Quincy A Gillmore- the Dining Room Dilemma

September 5, 2014 at 11:59 am 20 comments

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

General Quincy Adams Gillmore , hero of the Civil War,
http://www.civilwar.org/education/history/biographies/quincy-gillmore.html
came into my life and my dining room, totally unexpected. He arrived, carried by a descendent, to my front door a few weeks ago. The good General had been offered to the Lorain Historical Society http://lorainhistory.org/ by family members but the historical society declined him and so he is with me.

With him came some other artifacts including a 1914 framed photograph of the graduating class of Lorain High School. Lorain City School Board member Jim Smith collected the photograph and it now proudly hangs at Charleston Center along with a similarly framed photo of the class of 1913. Ironically the photo returned home to Lorain City Schools exactly 100 years after it was first taken.

There was also a roll of some panoramic shots of what looked to be railroad tracks. I was scared to unroll it and gave it to Dennis Lamont who told me it was of the tracks etc for the Terminal Tower Cleveland, another good home and those that appreciate the memorabilia as much as Peggy herself.

Peggy

Since the last living direct descendent of one the founding fathers families the Gillmore’s in Lorain,

Pioneer Edmund Gillmorees
Source: A Standard History of Lorain County, Ohio: An Authentic Narrative …, Volume 2

my neighbor Peggy, passed earlier this year , I have acquired some of the “history” of the Gillmores and this old neighborhood as Peggy had kept them in her lovely home.
403 Oberlin

https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2014/04/28/history-mystery-lives-of-lorain-gillmore/

Peggy, was so proud of her heritage and what the Gillmore family had managed to contribute, not only to Lorain’s founding history, but to the nation as a whole.

I had promised Peggy I would do what I could to archive her family on the world wide web. I am not sure she understood what that meant exactly but I started with a couple of posts on the the old WoM Blog http://thbarchive.wordpress.com/. Unfortunately the WoM disappeared from the www and therefore with it those posts. However, I did find my files for at least one of those series on the Gillmores and Lakeview Park. The cabin/ farmhouse of the Gillmores stood once where the famous easter basket/ floral basket now sits
FLORAL-BASKET

http://danielebrady.blogspot.com/2010/04/lakeview-park-easter-basket-or-floral.html

PART ONE:
Where History Walks

PART TWO
Where History Walk1

I have looked upon the face of the “older” General for these past weeks pondering his story. I cleaned the beautiful 22″ by 25″ carved wooden frame, gently polished the studding, which is probably pewter or white metal. I have not seen any image on the web that shows the General as he aged. There is some foxing and bleed through from the wooden backing on the paper ( which needs some restoration). Whilst dusting, I noticed, the back part of the original backing remains some writing. I would say the photographic portrait is at least 125 years old. I would probably have to take the back off to see if there is other information but I am not willing to do that – just in case something happens.

…of General Quincy A Gil…. was presented to Perry Chapter DAR …..


and below what is left of the damaged backing a small white square upon which is written –

This picture is the property of Nathan Perry Chapter D.A.R , Lorain presented by Quincy A Gillmore – Elyria O

Digital Camera

This sent me off on a bit of a history mystery hunt.

Obviously, this presented piece given at one time to the Daughters of the American Revolution ( Nathan Perry Chapter) to which Peggy had belonged, founded in 1918 could not have been presented by the pictured General Quincy Adams Gillmore himself . It made no sense as he had died in 1888.

The glass in the portrait is “wavy” something that occurred prior to 1900. I believed the portrait may have belonged to the General’s family – his son was another General Quincy O Maher Gillmore– 1850-1923 but he had the wrong middle initial to be the donor.

General Quincy  O'Maher Gillmore

General Quincy O’Maher Gillmore

Therefore, since the note says presented by Quincy A Gillmore I drew the conclusion this was probably presented by the grandson of the Civil War General and himself another General Quincy A Gillmore1881-1956.

Quincy  A Gillmore  grandson of General Quincy  A Gillmore ( Civil War)

Quincy A Gillmore grandson of General Quincy A Gillmore ( Civil War)

BUT that “ELYRIA” connection worried me so I carried on looking, where I could, on-line. Low an behold, there is “another Quincy A Gillmore” He was the son of Civil War General Quincy Adams Gillmore’s brother Edmund (named after his grandfather one of the founders of this settlement ( owning approximately 1,000 acres). This Edmund married Miss Adelaide E Gillmore daughter of Alanson(also a son of the original Edmund of Lakeview) and Evelyn ( Jones) Gillmore.

Alanson Gillmore

Alanson Gillmore


1805-1895
Adelaide was also the sister of Fanny (Gillmore) Wilford-
fanny gilmore  wilford

wife of Captain Wilford
https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2008/02/12/capt-wilford-a-hero-of-the-inland-seas/

and the lady of the civil war letters.
https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2011/04/13/civil-war-letters-fannie-gilmore-lorain/

Edmund and Adelaide’s only child was Quincy “ALANSON” Gillmore , who ended up a prominent attorney in Elyria (Page 728- The History of Lorain County) so I am thinking the presenter of the portrait could be the nephew!

Attorney Quincy  Alanson Gillmore of Elyria

Attorney Quincy Alanson Gillmore of Elyria


1850-1923

I won’t ever know why or how the portrait ended up back with Peggy and her home but it obviously had for these many, many years. The General staring at me these many days started me back on a road I promised Peggy I would travel. As far as the portrait , it certainly doesn’t belong with me , I believe HE needs a permanent home where he will be appreciated, just where that is at the moment is up in the air- suggestions?????

to be continued ……………..

Note : Thanks to Dan Brady http://danielebrady.blogspot.com/ for his help with the Gillmores

Entry filed under: Charleston Village, city of lorain, history, Lorain's Magical History Tour, men of substance. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Sept 3rd- Confidence- Chris Ritchey 2014 General (ly) Gillmore – Lorain – the early years

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rich  |  September 5, 2014 at 12:31 pm

    THANK YOU FOR CARING!

  • 2. thatwoman  |  September 5, 2014 at 12:31 pm

    it gets better 🙂

  • 3. Dan Given  |  September 7, 2014 at 1:13 pm

    The Historical society needs to take this and display it. There is plent of space in the newly donated library we gave them

  • 4. thatwoman  |  September 7, 2014 at 3:41 pm

    Well Dan they turned it down- apparently told the family they had plenty of General Gilmore portraits and they sell them- obviously this portrait is not worthy of display under the new “historical” guidelines. I would be very hesitant to trust now that it would be displayed with the care and consideration ‘I” believe it deserves…

  • 5. Deanie  |  September 7, 2014 at 6:17 pm

    How about the Lorain County Historical Society in Elyria.

  • 6. Loraine Ritchey  |  September 7, 2014 at 7:16 pm

    Yes we are looking at options hoping to get a consensus and go from there – I feel native Lorainites should eventually make the decision

  • […] Quincy Adams Gillmore ( latter years) Part One https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2014/09/05/general-quincy-a-gillmore-the-dining-room-dilemna/ A great deal has been written about General Adams Quincy Gillmore. He was the son of Quartus […]

  • 11. Polly Gilreath  |  November 1, 2014 at 10:01 pm

    My husband just returned from Tybee Island which so intrigued him, that he read about its history. He read about a General Gillmore, and I immediately asked him if it was “John Quincy.” Of course, he was! That made me think of Uncle Charlie’s genealogy which ended with my generation. My daughter has my copy, so in lieu of that I went to the web to read about Gen. Gillmore and found these wonderful pages of history and pictures.
    Thank you so much. I learned a great deal. I remember annually going to Lakeview Park and looking at the Easter basket. I had no idea and wonder if my Dad knew!

    My name is Polly (Gillmore) Gilreath from Elyria.

  • 12. thatwoman  |  November 2, 2014 at 3:41 pm

    I am so glad you found the pages, I promised Peggy one day- and there is so much more to your wonderful family I couldn’t even begin to touch upon.

  • 13. Tammy Ramirez  |  November 7, 2014 at 4:01 pm

    Sounds like you may have found a great home for that picture!! He’s not in foster care any longer, he has family still in the area!

  • 14. Loraine Ritchey  |  November 7, 2014 at 5:57 pm

    I think he needs to be seen by the general population along with some of the artifacts also the hand -drawn map of Lorain mid 1800’s . and I will leave it up to the CBVSI BOD for the final decisions

  • 15. Tammy Ramirez  |  November 11, 2014 at 3:46 pm

    It’s too bad that these great people developed here, yet didn’t come back or give back some of their skills or knowledge. I wonder why?

  • 16. Loraine Ritchey  |  November 11, 2014 at 4:08 pm

    Tammy they gave their skills and knowledge to a fledgling nation. But that doesn’t mean skills and knowledge weren’t shared or developed in what is now known as Lorain. Those pioneers that stayed, pulled this town from a wilderness, turned a harbor into a port , like the founders buried in a little plot on 6th street who went unrecognized because nobody knew of them doesn’t mean they weren’t here contributing . The young man who patented the double hull construction of the lake freighters Captain Wilford Grandson, Lorain High graduate and so many more their names lost in Lorain’s memory……. but they lived and contributed they are just “unknown”

  • […] in fact the same attorney who donated the portrait of General Gillmore back in the day Q.A Gillmore https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2014/09/05/general-quincy-a-gillmore-the-dining-room-dilemna/ was retained as Georges […]

  • […] Readers will remember the tale of my dilemma of the portrait of General Gillmore. General Quincy A Gillmore- the Dining Room Dilemma […]

  • 19. Renee McAliney  |  April 29, 2016 at 4:04 am

    you are doing a wonderful job of keeping a log of my family! I am the great granddaughter of Cora Wilford Bartenfeld, Fanny and Thomas Wilford’s daughter. Just an FYI that you probably already know…Alanson Gilmore’s first wife was Eveline Jones (not Evelyn). I am so curious about her as she was the only daughter of Augustus Jones and Hetty Buel Jones and came to Lorain (or Black River) way back when from Connecticut. I’ve been trying to find out what happened to her, as Fanny was only 4 when her mother, Eveline, died…Alanson Gilmore then remarried 2 more times….at least that is what I can find…I would love to know more…

  • 20. thatwoman  |  April 29, 2016 at 11:17 am

    I will pass on your questions to those that may know more Loraine

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 179 other followers

September 2014
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930