Thanksgiving USA- celebrations – one breath at a time – Chris Ritchey

November 27, 2014 at 4:46 pm 1 comment

Yes! there is a turkey in the oven this morning – Queen Anne potatoes and roasted veggies getting prepared to take the journey to Nikki’s. There will be smiles and little boys getting into mischief helping
Family will gather and some of us will push away the memories of the last Thanksgiving Day when we “were a family complete” in order to make happy memories for children and realtives.

The tears will be held in check as best as able with a helping hand from those loved beyond all tears- they are my life support . I know I am not alone on this day , there are other mothers and fathers , sisters and brothers who are being brave this day and remembering and missing silently with controlled breathing –
chrisbrowns

Thanksgiving Day I sat all alone in a waiting room, hustled out of the ICU room as my son, with tears slowly filling his eyes dropping silently on his cheek, was being prepared for the vent as he had started choking on the sip of water I had given him.

I heard the last words he ever spoke that Thanksgiving Day. I waited in the ICU waiting room as Code Blue was called , the technicians coming out high fiving as they had completed the procedure in record time – celebrating their own kind of “touchdown”. Did they not realize they broke my heart…. and then a young doctor coming out to me asking if I wanted Clergy as my son was dying. That was our last Thanksgiving Chris. There was no one there in that waiting room- I was alone, totally in another world , reality crashing forth into my brain my heart not accepting….,
my mind whirling with wanting to stop time , to find a way to wake from an nightmare.

The Cretans of Control ( Lombardi and co)
https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2011/11/23/thanksgiving-2011-a-time-not-to-remember-chris-ritchey/
showing up later with their nut rolls and recipe swap – I couldn’t grasp what was happening , who were these people invading my terror with their leftovers? –

The missing is monumental…. it is taking all I have to keep breathing.

So I am thankful this year for my own special life support, Nikki, Jim, my husband, Nana my wonderful friends, cousins and especially those two little boys Gavin and Braedyn, who make me smile when I struggle to breathe .

IMG_0022

Entry filed under: Chris Ritchey, death, Doctors/Physicians, grief, Lorain Dude, Love, medical, men of substance, Mothers. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Mayor George Wickens- Reputation sullied- Lorain December 3rd- There Is No Peace- Chris Ritchey

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dave  |  November 27, 2014 at 6:11 pm

    Hold those little ones close and breathe deeply!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 182 other followers

November 2014
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930