The DYEnamics of Inspections – Time lines – Lorain

February 5, 2015 at 5:00 pm 9 comments

Long time readers of this blog will see the exploration of what works and doesn’t work in the “inspections” of older properties.And I was not alone ! There is a “history” from Mark Teleha’s Lorain County Photographer Blog
Dear Madam Housing Inspector ( the grief wrongly given ) 2008 – it does happen
http://www.locophotogblog.com/?p=269

There are even more that I’ve done that still HAVEN’T been addressed. Some that are so horrible, that I can’t imagine why they haven’t been cited yet. How do I know? Because there hasn’t been a damn thing done to any of them since I first saw them.
If what I’m doing is something that you have to complain about, then maybe you’re not doing enough.

My series on the Building Dept.

https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2013/02/14/the-cowboys-of-lorain-no-more-shooting-blanks-part-7/

dye a tribed
Due to the recent, very quick response by the Building Dept. inspecting my property due to a complaint made by a sitting member of the Lorain Design Review Board Mrs. Kathy( Cathy) Dye


https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2015/02/01/ode-to-a-downspout-named-don-lorain/

I decided to see how this “particular inspection” process worked so well and yet our council people have had issues over the years getting the “process” going .

Mrs. Dye of the Lorain Design Review Board took issue with my property and her course of action she stated in
JUNE 2013

WHILE YOU TAKE THIS RUN DOWN BROADWAY I’M GOING TO ALL OF YOUR HOMES.

https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2013/06/25/on-broadway-downtown-the-44052/
Now I am sure it was just a coincidence the city conducted block inspections that summer. – well maybe- now I am not so sure 😉 However, I am pleased to say those on this block who received citations followed up and the block looks so much better. For the record we received no such citations in 2013. That apparently was not good enough for Mrs. Dye .

In her “dye a tribe” against me personally after threatening ( in my opinion) the Mayor ( Ritenauer) and the Director of Building Housing and Planning,( Leon Mason) she started out to prove she was a bigger bitch than I. Oh dear didn’t know it was a contest !

https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2015/01/10/city-officials-caught-between-a-ritchey-and-a-dye-place/

ON JANUARY 9th 2015 at 11:56 Kathy Dye – Design Review Board member wrote

…. I can be a bigger bitch than Loraine Ritchie. I know of several things if I spill the beans will cause a huge uproar in this city as well as a large number of law suits.

I was previously asked to keep my mouth shut about all of it but my patience is running thin. Just to also let you know the information I know has nothing to do with any previous city employees……
…..#2, Loraine Ritchie has a lot of “ordinance issues” on the outside of her property, what about the inside?
#4 I understand the mayor is planning to run again. Well after I start sending out my series of letters to all the tv stations, radio stations and newspapers I don’t think it will help his campaign. The ball is now in your hands. If things don’t straighten up immediately with my son and his building the letters will begin next week.

blog on

Once again I was mentioned in her email to the Design Review Board on January 13th 2015. Seems I was still on her mind and she had followed through
January 11th 2015 approximately 1:30 in the afternoon on a Sunday
The Dye tribe were outside my home taking photos of my home and also back in the alley . looking I suppose for my “ordinance issues- not found in 2013 apparently – time for a Dye re-inspection-

Now Kathy, was apparently very upset with Mr. Klinar the Chief Building Inspector and wrote in an email Wednesday January 14th 2015 at 1:19 ( three days after her photo inspection)

Kathy  Dye emailresi

NOTE: I had put in a public records request and answers to some questions which will be in the next post . So far I have just received the citation (sent by Klinar) and this email.

Looking at this email it is the “second call” Mrs. Dye made on my property- did not Mr. Klinar jump quick enough after her first call? Because also, according to this email ,my overgrown growth is a real hazard to the rodent population:

Oh NO!!! first a downspout named Don dangling and discharging on the ground in sub freezing weather and now the rats are in peril!

rodent hazzard

Obviously, having some degree of intelligence I realize what Kathy was trying ,in her way, to say – and for the sake of those reading my garage does not require downspouts- a fact well-known to those inspecting older garages.

However ,it seems Mr. Klinar after this admonishment from Kathy Dye of the Design Review Board, got right on that request as 4 working days later he was out and about with his clip board – snow not holding him back- and we duly received the lone downspout citation and the garage needing to be painted in the spring. As an aside his vehicle that day , as we had been having issues with people doing nefarious things in the alley, was noted as a suspicious vehicle .hmmmmm

The issue here is the time lines and who gets what inspected in a timely manner. The next post will address the power of Dye as opposed to those council people who are still waiting and have been for months and years for inspections and out come of those inspections ……. TO BE CONTINUED

Entry filed under: a Cow -elle opinion, Blogging, Charleston Village, city of lorain, commentary, hell is other people, Lorain Multi Property Owners, notorious opponents of exactitude, Safety. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Whose Name is Writ in Water- Feb 3rd- Chris Ritchey Dye- abolical – goose and the gander- Inspection Process – Lorain

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rich Robbin  |  February 5, 2015 at 6:26 pm

    excellent information – so, when Ai need to complain about a certain back yard, dio I contact Mrs. Dye? Seems she has some clout somewhere.

  • 2. Loraine Ritchey  |  February 5, 2015 at 6:53 pm

    well I guess we will see how much luck our council people have had in the follow up post 😉

  • 3. Mary Springowski  |  February 5, 2015 at 9:18 pm

    This is getting out of hand!

  • 4. thatwoman  |  February 5, 2015 at 9:50 pm

    Oh actually I am enjoying every minute of this – not often the paper trail is so detailed – it is just amazing to me that Mrs. Dye thought she could put all these traits of hers in writing and felt safe doing so…. I wonder why that is

  • 5. Mark Teleha  |  February 6, 2015 at 2:17 am

    Just another example of how the wrong people have/are in power. She abuses whatever influence she has (which is ridiculous that she has any!), yet the city cannot address the REAL problems. And they wonder why people are leaving this city in droves, why the school system is as poor as it is (because of the cheap rentals), why all the cities around Lorain are the ones getting new businesses.

    Except for Dennis Flores, I don’t think there’s one person employed/elected in this city that actually gives a damn about anything other than getting re-elected. The city’s union employees are all about doing the job, as opposed to doing it right.

    The fact that Dye is more concerned about YOUR property with it’s minor infractions, rather than the HUGE issues her son’s property has speaks volumes about her as a person. The fact that someone from the city actually came out and cited you just reinforces my statements above.

    People like Art Oehlke that gave a $hit about this town were given the deaf ear by the city admin because he told it like it was, while he ran a business by the book, didn’t cause any trouble, kept his property up to code, and wasn’t drawing drinking, rowdy people downtown. His family has had a business on Broadway for DECADES and this city’s administration was too young and stupid to take the time to listen to him.

  • 6. thatwoman  |  February 6, 2015 at 1:58 pm

    well today is the day for our mandatory compliance for don the downspout- it is 9 degrees, there have been snow emergency declared all week the alley full of snow no sidewalks visible do you think Dick will be out inspecting my downspout… I wait with bated breath ;)will I get a thank you for being a good girl do you think for having had the men brave the elements to adhere to the citation???

  • […] But one of the statements I find so ironic in my place from on high is being told “an inspector didn’t want to give a written citation to an individual because it was a neighborhood fight” and a personal issue. errrrrrrrrrr sorry but the Building Dept. set a precedent with me of the dangling downspout that cold January Day….. Don the Dangling Downspout has a long memory and all things should be equal in the land of maintenance coding. Seems to me you inserted yourselves into that situation- tit for tat- quite nicely and very quickly…….and now those beans😉 https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2015/02/05/the-dyenamics-of-inspections-time-lines-lorain/ […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 179 other followers

February 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728