Chris- Miss – Past -present – the time has come 2015

December 22, 2015 at 6:44 pm 4 comments

gavbres I knew the day would come when children with eyes all aglow, would ask-

Nog, ( that is me) why don’t you have a Christmas tree?

Oh their great- grandmother still has Christmas in her little lounge full of dancing Santa Clauses .

Nanacol2012

This fact not lost on them as they decorate it for her every year!

My home has been decidedly bare since my son died- I don’t feel joy in this house at this time of year- it brings the missing so much to the surface and with it the inevitable pain that can cripple.
PicMonkey Collage

No ! I visit Christmas at my daughter and son- in- law’s. I enjoy their wonderful tree, the laughter of children and family, all the lovely food , but I can leave Christmas when it all becomes too much.

Since the dreadful December when my son died , there hasn’t been any Christmas lights adorning the house, not even a hat tip to the season. However, anger stirred me this year. Almost every post on facebook,the posturing, the Christmas wars , the share if you believe groups, the anti this religion , the anti that in politics , the media , every holier than thou my religion is better than the other’s religion , the tirade and yes the killings against those that do not share a belief ( all in the name of “human – KIND” and whose god is on whose side) really, as the saying goes It got right up my nose …. talk about “lack of ” goodwill toward men –

I decided to decorate for the Winter Solstice and add another “holiday” to the bunch. , why not part of my ancient heritage and my own way of making a stand against hypocrisy . It took no more than an hour to gather the materials from the tree branches, the holly and the ivy found around the garden – heck there was even a version of a jolly old elf for the wreath on the front door .
61jYibPOJNL__AA160_

A can of white spray paint , some weeds, a bunch of mistletoe and a green spotlight, a couple of deer antlers and there it was. My ode to air ( the garden wind ornament) ,
air postres

water ( my fountain bathed in a green light)- earth
lamp postres
fire – ( Chris’ lantern to be fueled with a candle).
fire

My mother, at first was pleased –

“Has my daughter finally got the Christmas spirit once more- you so loved Christmas , Loraine?”

was horrified when I said

No! I decided to celebrate a pagan holiday of the Winter Solstice outside.

Realizing I was having a sarcastic pop of my own at the holier than thous with the decorations she said:

Oh Loraine , you can’t do that what will the neighbors think?

They won’t even notice mum, because every single thing used ( including a jolly old elf) is used in today’s Christmas celebrations

http://paganwiccan.about.com/od/yuletraditions/tp/Ten-Christmas-Customs-with-Pagan-Roots.htm

However, when a little six-year-old asked why I didn’t have a tree, I told him my Christmas story :

How every year his Uncle Chris would insist on a real tree and he and I and sometimes mummy would go and have some lunch and pick out the real tree, drag it home needles falling everywhere , the grumbling from Pooh Bah! The decorating with all the ornaments that were special to his mummy and Uncle Chris.

And NOW it makes me sad to hang all the ornaments that were from happy times on the tree. Instead, I had given all those ornaments from Christmas past so he and Braedyn could hang them on their tree, which makes me happy. I told him it is time for his mummy and daddy, Braedyn and himself to make their own Christmas traditions.

I will come and visit Christmas at their house. This seemed to satisfy him until

Oh Nog! if you don’t have a tree do you put up stockings?

chrispast

No! I said ,

Oh! then Santa won’t come and you won’t get any presents.

And as I looked at his little concerned face I said

He, Braedyn and his mum were the best presents ever!


sawmillres
What ever you celebrate, whatever your chosen belief, whatever path you choose or not to choose to follow- I wish you health and happiness……

Entry filed under: Chris Ritchey, Christmas, Lorain Dude, Love. Tags: , , , , , , .

Passing the Captain’s Hat- 2015- Update A Moonbeam – A child- loved unconditionally- Gabe Miller

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. richrob2013Rich Robbin  |  December 22, 2015 at 8:09 pm

    Wishing everyone the best!

  • 2. Carolyn  |  December 22, 2015 at 9:08 pm

    Health & happiness to you, Ernie & your whole family

  • 3. Dave  |  December 23, 2015 at 3:31 am

    Happy Solstice!!!

  • 4. muley  |  December 31, 2015 at 11:51 am

    thinking of you and your family often…..hugs from afar.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 186 other followers

December 2015
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031