May 3rd – Coping mechanism – Chris Ritchey

May 3, 2016 at 12:12 pm 2 comments

chriswin1It has been a strange few weeks; something has gone awry within me . I am not coping well or as well as I ever cope after losing you. I am – once again raw, intolerant, weepy, my depression level running higher.

I looked for the usual pit falls and triggers- I checked to see those coping defenses put in place these many months were still there. I can now see a black Ford pick up truck without flinching , I can drive past Mary, Mother of God Parish( St. Mary’s church without wanting to physically vomit.

IGNOR(e) (st)ANCE and the Roman Catholic Church Part Three

Why have I been so overwhelmed, why am I once again emotionally incontinent ? Then it dawned … the tree , that beautiful large Maple , standing outside my den window. I had to make the decision to pull the plug on that beautiful tree as she too was dying. Your father told me I would miss that tree outside the window.

Artwork Chris Ritchey

Artwork “Hard” Chris Ritchey


I hadn’t realized what a terrible difference it would make losing her. You see, in some respects I have become somewhat of a recluse. I find the comfort I crave in my home – the thick walls protect me – I can cry when I need to, lose myself in Acorn TV. for hours, I can lock myself away delete or shutdown the outside world when the need arises.

A great deal of my time is spent in the den on the computer -writing- which for me is cathartic , researching and reaching out from the sanctuary of this place to the world and shutting the world down with a click of the keyboard.

tree beforeJust as that tree protected you it has in its way protected me, blocking out some of the life and happenings in this neighborhood-

April 3rd- As lovely as a tree- Chris Ritchey

What the eye does not see, the heart does not grieve over, does it?” ― Peter Shaffer, Equus

And then she was gone- her wood taken away, her stump ground away ! My eyes, no longer shielded by her presence from the view from the den window, were opened to life in the neighborhood. Life, lifestyles and people intruded into my home – no longer softened and deflected by a stalwart trunk arms that reached to the sky and green. Situations, some really pale in their significance in the “before time of losing you”, I would have dealt with, became all-consuming – overwhelming my ability to cope.

I was not dealing well. Was it because I felt the outside life and lifestyles rushing in at me. The tree that had protected you, on the January day, deflecting her sister tree away from your room had, I realized, also by her very presence been deflecting the intrusive, the ugly and unwanted from me. She gave me respite in her own way and now I have to find other coping mechanisms and wait for green to once again return……….

This life has become “coping” – I love you and miss you with each passing sunset……..

Assignment - Chris Ritchey-CIA

Assignment – Chris Ritchey-CIA

Entry filed under: Chris Ritchey, grief, hell is other people, Love. Tags: , , , , , , .

Lost faith in the system! Oh Her Again!! Lorain Abate the wait- Lorain’s Housing Court- OBJECTION

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Debbie Hignett  |  May 3, 2016 at 2:12 pm

    I too had to remove a great Maple on our property 2 years ago, she had been with me since I was 20 years old. I was 56 when we had her cut down, estimates put her age at 180 years old. and I grieve still. I can’t begin to understand your grief over your loss of Chris. As a mother I lost a preemie, but can not fathom the pain of the death of an adult child. I pray you can find peace and comfort in the future.

  • 2. thatwoman  |  May 3, 2016 at 2:33 pm

    thank you so much for your thoughts and reaching out ..it means a great deal….

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 230 other subscribers
May 2016
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031