Archive for January 25, 2017

Lorain- History Mystery- Her Name was Clara – Pt. 8

212-w18thres

Part One https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2016/12/27/lorain-history-mystery-her-name-was-clara/

Part Two https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2016/12/28/lorain-history-mystery-her-name-was-clara-pt-2/

Part Three https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2016/12/29/lorain-history-mystery-her-name-was-clara-pt3/

Part Four https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2017/01/05/lorain-history-mystery-her-name-was-clara-part-4/

Part Five https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2017/01/13/lorain-history-mystery-her-name-was-clara-pt-5/

Part Six https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2017/01/16/lorain-history-mystery-her-name-was-clara-part-6/

Part Seven https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2017/01/24/lorain-history-mystery-her-name-was-clara-pt-7/

And now the pages come to an end but not the mystery …..

Page 8 Clara Oklahoma
ok8res

I said Bruce what is this talk about us defending this “Rose Flemming” Bruce was walking the floor and finally stopped and said “Judge” The Firm Hartwell and Barton are not defending this girl. But I “Bruce Barton is going to defend her” I sat down at my desk and tried to think ( torn missing)…. finally said Bruce I can’t understand why you want to get mixed … in the thing. I then received an answer from Barton I shall never forget . He said “Judge” ninety percent of the people in this world are always trying to figure out some one elses affairs and I have (always – crossed out) known you for twenty years and I have been a partner of yours for about 14 years

ED NOTE- going back to the original narrative in Part 4 the date of meeting Bruce was 1902 so that would put the time frame of 1922 for the “story”

and I find you are trying to figure out my affairs. I can’t tell you why I am defending this girl but the firm Hartwell and Barton ceases right now. ” I finally persuaded him to sit down and listen to me and told him that whatever he did that I was with him but he said that while he never wanted to lose my friendship he insisted that it be known that it was j(ust) Bruce Barton that was taking the case (torn)…… Hartwell and Barton . You see

Page 9 Clara- OK
ok9res

When we left the club we went straight to Police Headquarters and talked with the girl and latter on when I saw the Chief he told me when he came from her cell he said “Chief I am defending Miss Flemming and don’t try to grill her anymore …………

cvpark
And there we have it . I don’t suppose we will ever know the “rest of the story” because that is what I think this is . It was probably written by a Gregg family member all those decades ago . I am not alone in that thinking and one of the people looking to the mystery Rick Kurish ( also contributes to Dan Brady’s Blog http://danielebrady.blogspot.com/ had this to say yesterday and I agree
main-beam

“After reading this far, I’m inclined to believe that the author was writing a novel loosely based on historical events. No doubt some of the events mentioned actually occurred, but the inability to tie any of the names to historical records is a red flag. An example of an event that may be based on the historical record is the Martha Barton Hospital. An internet search for first hospital in Oklahoma, turned up the following:

“In 1894 Dr. F.B. Fisk purchased a small one story cottage on South Main Street in Muskogee. He greatly enlarged the little house by adding a second story and building an addition to the front. The building sat on a busy thoroughfare where many liveries and wagon yards were located. Early Sanborn Insurance maps of Muskogee note that this hospital was first called St. Mary’s Sanitarium.

With his medical partner, Dr. J.L. Blakemore, Fike expanded the sanitarium to become the first hospital in the Twin Territories. It was briefly called the Fike-Blakemore Hospital after the two physicians. The doctors ran this hospital until 1906. After a donation of support from their good friend, Andrew Robb, the hospital was then called Martha Robb Hospital.

Andrew Robb

Andrew Robb

Martha Robb was Andrew Robb’s wife. A.W. Robb was an early day merchant in Muskogee. The Robb family was one of the first to settle in the new railroad town and was always involved in supporting the town and its early institutions.”

Interesting similarities to Clara’s story, with names and a few facts changed.
lorain-lumberres
Also further research on the Lorain Lumber Co. letterhead, indicates that the story was written after 1930. In the 1920s, through at least 1929, Charles F. Friend, Carrie Moore’s father was listed as vice-president of the company. Also Conrad A. Horn was living in Columbus and working in various financial Depts. of state government from 1922 until 1929. He did not return to Lorain County until 1930.

Rick was also very helpful in tracking down the initial Lorain Lumber Company time lines

I think the key to the time frame the story was written may be contained in the Lumber Co. letterhead the first page of the story was written on. Richard J. Kutza while an employee of the Lumber Co. for many years, was not listed as the president until about 1925/1926. That would mean the story could not have written before that time. Also Mrs. C.C Moore would probably not have been involved in the business prior to the death of her husband Leonard, which I believe occurred circa 1920.

ED NOTE I have been able to talk with the Gregg family and in fact I will be meeting with Mrs. Gregg tomorrow – hopefully I will be able to flesh out some of the house history in the 1920-1930’s.

However I do so wish we could’ve read more of “Clara” – it seems we had a writer with a good story to tell-

Why was Bob Sandford murdered? Why was Bruce Barton defending Rose Flemming ? Was Rose the mother of Clara


My imagination is running away with itself but the truth is we will probably never know.

But I have to THANK whomever wrote these fragile pages so many decades ago, she ( and I believe it to be a she) took me on a journey of not only furthering the history of Lorain but I journeyed through oil fields, the life out west , the rough and tumble west, riots and woman outlaws. I learned a great deal from these forgotten pages and I hope to learn more Thank you whomever you are !
ok8bwok9bw

January 25, 2017 at 5:14 pm 2 comments


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 186 other followers

January 2017
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031