Paula Tobias- Women of Worth Series

March 13, 2008 at 8:51 pm 15 comments

in the pink
that woman by Loraine Ritchey -contact info thatwb@yahoo.com

Paula Tobias, the FIRST woman to run for Mayor of the City of Lorain and an Independent and one of Lorain’s “true” advocates responded to the questions from “that woman” for the Women of Worth Series.Paula Tobias

Q :Why did you run for mayor, why not council
person first?

Paula-

The timing, I didn’t feel the city had time for me to go through the “Pay your dues, run for your Ward, then at Large, then Mayor”. The City was spiraling out of control. I knew it would get worse before it got better. We/The Citizens couldn’t wait any longer, the city needed to be run like a business without political favors.

Q: What do you think was the down side in being an Independent running for Mayor?
Paula:

Exposure, the parties have their “members” advertised and the die hard Dems and Rep will vote by party and not the person. Check the numbers of registered Democrats, Republicans, Independents and no party.

And I’d be naïve to say money wasn’t an issue. It takes a lot to run a campaign. What surprised me most was the staunch Democrats and Republicans that would support by buying tickets to my fund raisers, but they couldn’t come, fear of reprisal by the Party?

Q: What was the plus side of being an Independent?
Paula:

I didn’t have to answer to anyone but the citizens; there were no “paybacks”.

Q: Did you have any reservations as to running as a woman?
Paula:

That I found was one of strengths. When I was out campaigning I can’t tell you how many times, men and woman would tell me “This is exactly what this poor city needs, a woman’s love and care”.

Q :This election was not “down and dirty” and with negative back biting as some we have seen in Lorain, to what do you attribute that fact.
Paula:

It could have been. I had people coming to me with “information” on the other candidates. But that is not what I wanted the focus of the campaign to be on. I’ve seen the mudslinging and have lost respect for those that do. I’d also like to think my opponents had respect for me as a woman, first time candidate and conducted themselves as gentlemen. I genuinely like both of my opponents.

Q Would you have done anything differently?
Paula:

I am a bit of a perfectionist. Working full time does not allow one to run a thorough campaign. There wasn’t enough time to do everything I wanted. There wasn’t enough money to do everything I wanted. It’s easy to second quess when it’s over. But I am proud of the campaign and how I handled myself.

Q You made a remarkable showing getting more votes
than your Republican counter part, would you
consider running again for office?

Paula:

Yes

Q: You have attended city council meetings and
various other government meetings for a number of
years and still do so, What would you like to say
to the Administration and Council people that could
benefit Lorain.

Paula:

Use my Plan.


Q: What do you think is “not” working?

Paula:

Political system to run the Business called Lorain.

Q:This was your first experience campaigning,
would you have done anything differently ?

Paula:

Find a way to knock on more doors.
Not listen to some of the politicals veiled threats of “You’ll never have the support to run the city.”

Q. How much of a toll did this take on your family?
Paula:

We discussed before I decided to run; Frank, Jean and Liz were there for me. My mother was the best Volunteer Coordinator, Volunteer, campaign manager, etc etc. I couldn’t have done this without my family.

Q. Would you consider running as a Democrat or
Republican ?

Paula:

Yes! Even during the campaign I had people coming up to me offering to run my campaign if I put a D after my name.
I believe in making fact based decisions. After I was into the campaign I found statistics about Independents winning positions, it wasn’t good.
I’ve had a lot of people since the campaign ask me to run again. I’m going to have to think about it. I would never compromise my values or priorities, I don’t take well to people telling me what to do; explain why it’s the best for the City, but I don’t want to be beholden to anyone but my family and the citizens of Lorain

That being said, If I can be an Independent Democrat or Republican I just might. I’ve always been a registered Democrat and while I was campaigning people thought I was a Republican.

After thoughts:

Paula:

The people really touched me, the real people of Lorain. Their needs, their faith, their honesty…
I loved campaigning. One minute I would be at a Mexican Bar, the next at a Baptist service with the School Superintendent. I loved it. I saw the best of Lorain and its Citizens. I learned so much and meet so many wonderful people.

Women of Worth : Melisa Krasienko

Entry filed under: Women of Worth.

CRA- WoM The Woman’s Vote

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kelly Boyer Sagert  |  March 13, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    Thanks for sharing all of that info, Paula! That must have been quite an experience.

  • 2. Paula Tobias  |  March 13, 2008 at 10:56 pm

    It was! and as I read this again a thought came to mind,”What would I do different” I would love to have a huge fireside chat with everyone in Lorain or be able to sit at their kitchen table and listen to their concerns.
    It was an emotional roller coaster at times, but it was so worth it. Would have even been better if I’d won, but I’m still trying to help.

  • 3. Henery  |  March 13, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    Great interview! The whole party-loyalty thing just blows me away. If only people would look at the issues, platforms and plans of the candidates instead of basing where they’ll put their ‘X’ by which candidate has which letter after their name.

    Hopefully, next time will turn out different, Paula!

  • 4. Brian Hazelett  |  March 14, 2008 at 10:46 am

    Paula,
    As someone else who threw my hat into the ring, what you did was very couragous and inspiring because you never let up.

    I salute you for your persistance and desires to bring about effective change for our city and still pushing forward. While it appears that I have “misplaced” mine, I understand and appreciate what you have done and whould hope that others would look at what you have done as inspiration.

  • 5. CissyMathis  |  March 14, 2008 at 11:08 am

    Great interview.

    I am looking forward to your next run, because I truly believe you will be an assest that this city needs.

  • 6. Paula Tobias  |  March 14, 2008 at 11:46 am

    Thanks everyone. You’ve all been an integral part in my life. You need good people behind you and to inspire you. You’ve all done that.
    A couple of the wishes or goals I had was to bring issues to light and if I could get one person out to vote that never voted before I’d be happy. An afterthought was maybe I would be an example to other women, especially young women that if I can do it, so can you.

  • 7. Liz Tobias  |  March 14, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    Can you give a link to where City Officials could review and implement your Plan?

  • 8. Kelly Boyer Sagert  |  March 14, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    It would be great, Paula, if you could give talks at our schools, letting the females know that the possibilities are wide open for women . . .

  • 9. Paula Tobias  |  March 14, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    Why certainly http://thewomblog.com/?p=931 that’s a piece of my ideas and high level. I’d be happy to sit down and go over. I’ve already developed a “log” or database they can use to record/document calls and issues. You assign to a Director, with a level of priority and detailed information, you print out reports noting what’s open or closed, who has what “issues” etc. I believe it is a lovely way to track and document.

  • 10. Paula Tobias  |  March 14, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    I’d be happy to speak to anyone. If there is someone in particular I should contact please let me know.

  • 11. Bill Sturgill  |  March 14, 2008 at 3:34 pm

    I have to tell you Paula that I am a friend of Tony Krasienko’s and I believe also that if he recieves cooperation from the government around him he can help move this city forward.
    I guess my only regret is that this city couldn’t have had you both working together for the betterment of all. I was so impressed with you during your campaign. I know for a fact you made both parties take you seriously.
    I was told you were a Republican, but for some reason it didn’t matter to me what you were or are. The message was the most important part of your campaign.
    There is no doubt in my mind that you would have made a good mayor or CEO of most companies.

  • 12. Paula Tobias  |  March 14, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    Well thank you Bill, that means a lot to me.
    The City could have had both of us. I extended the offer.

  • 13. muley  |  March 14, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    ………..”would have” made a good mayor? Bill, I don’t think we’re done seeing Paula in the near future. At least I hope not. Four years from now I will be fast approaching retirement, and if no one the likes of Paula, or herself, can get elected, I will sell and get outta Dodge. I refuse to spend my “Golden Years” here under the conditions that the seniors have here in Lorain. But I will take many fond memories with me.

  • 14. Kelly Boyer Sagert  |  March 14, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    Approaching retirement?!? Muley . . . I see the title “campaign manager” in your future . . .

    Muley for Manager!!!

  • 15. I’m So Glad…….I’m Glad « Muley’s Cafe 2.0  |  April 2, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    […] some very wonderful friends that I met through the years in my hometown of Lorain, Ohio. Loraine, Paula, Kelly……three woman who I really enjoyed reading about. Brian, the guy who isn’t […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 230 other subscribers
March 2008
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31