Goodbye my “luvleyful” grandson- Chris Ritchey

December 19, 2009 at 9:33 pm 22 comments

Someone said that you were interred todayI wasn’t told when – your family wasn’t told– I couldn’t say goodbye to what was left of you on this earth as you went back to the earth-surrounded by whom? Another culture – “apart” – from those that have loved you for so long and since the day were born. A goodbye denied to me ! I could not shed a tear at your side or throw you one last kiss – we have been denied but my thoughts of goodbye are for you my “luvleyful boy” are not to be denied

My grandson has died, he slipped out of his flesh and bones into a new frame.

His spirit has passed from here to where? Leaving us full of despair and loneliness.

I look up to the sky , he is there in the twinkling of the stars, he is in every floating cloud in every ray of sunlight.

He is there in the whispering stir of the leaves, the grass under our feet, in the birds dawn chorus and every flower that buds in the spring.

He is there in Misty’s joyful bark and in every breath of air we breathe.

We mourn and long for you Chris – you left us too soon but we thank you for every memory you gave us – locked safely in our shattered hearts – so that none can take them away

I love you Chris and I am so glad and proud you were my grandson, if just for just awhile.

Love Nana


Entry filed under: Chris Ritchey, men of substance. Tags: , , .

The Chris- MISS – Tree CHRIS- MISS – TIME – Chris Ritchey

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. seat21c  |  December 19, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    I sat with you on the plane to Houston in October. I have been reading your blog since that day. I met you, but briefly. I saw the love and worry in your face as you talked about your son. I have prayed for you and your family.

    I cannot believe how this has turned out . It is like a tragic soap opera, unbelievable ,a work of fiction from an unhealthy mind, were it not based in truth.

    To lose your son , to be denied your own beliefs and now learning that you weren’t even told of the time of the burial of his cremains. I could no longer remain a lurker. How heartless and cruel are these people? I am sorry for your loss .

  • 2. truth  |  December 20, 2009 at 2:01 am

    God Bless you all in your time of grief!

  • 3. Anne Hayward  |  December 21, 2009 at 8:32 am

    What an obnoxious family the out-laws turned out to be.

    Aunty Vi, we are so sorry you have all been put through this. It is a horrible situation for you all. We will be thinking of you with love

    Anne & Paul
    xxxxx

  • 4. Ralph Zig Tyko  |  December 21, 2009 at 8:42 am

    I am so very sorry for your loss.

  • 5. Joyce Smith  |  December 22, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    This horrible situation is totally unbelievable and inexcusable. Plse take care of each other.

  • 6. thatwoman  |  December 22, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    We are tryng Joyce…I just can’t get my head around all this…. I never ever thought that the death of my son could somehow be made worse but I got an inkling of things to come the last week of his life when he could no longer make his wishes known and the awfulness of that week…I kept thinking when they take that tube out and he can finally talk there is going to be hell to pay ..unfortunately he never was able to … and the times I did try ( as well as the nurses in ICU) to stop what was happening when I was no longer in his room. I was punished.. . kept out of what happened to my son…..even though up to that point the contact had been 24/7 when one went to get a few hours sleep… having to find out from a Dr. that the hours previously he had had a heart attack , they had paralized him and his organs were breaking down…..I then had to remind the medical staff that I was on his Hippa information………….shades of things to come………

  • 7. dave cotton  |  December 22, 2009 at 8:07 pm

    Such a beautiful poem!! I am crying yet again.
    Please know, there are many of us who love you!

  • 8. tony hines  |  December 24, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    Aunty Vi,
    I can only say how truly shocked I was to witness first hand what happened. As soon as I heard the news, I jumped on a plane to America to be with the family.

    I have my own personal story, my brother in law was tragically killed 17 Years ago, leaving my sister to bring up two little boys, Russell was a year older than Chris he was 30.

    When our tradegy occurred the two famillies supported each other for a long long time, I actually think it made us cope much better and enabled us to grieve.

    I have had to tell many people back home in the UK what happened, they cannot believe it.

    I can say one thing though Chris Loved you all dearly, and nobody can take that away.

    Love you all

    Tony

  • 9. thatwoman  |  December 24, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    Tony , thank you you made a terrible time a little easier by your presence . I know Chris would have been pleased. that you were there to help us and especially Nikki.
    You witnessed first hand what this act of “gang mentality ” has done to CHRIS’ FAMILY .( out of ignorance and show mentality) ( in my opinion)

    What happened whilst you were here to witness has of course now been compounded even further. Chris’ dad feels his son has been hijacked by an extended family not of our blood .He is in a terrible way . I thought it was a trip to the hospital time last night – it is that bad.

    The anger I am feeling as I watch the ripple effect of what this “group” have done to those that Chris loved and watching them as they “salivated over their dramatic and self imposed martydom ” is the only thing as I have said before keeping me from falling down …

    CHRIS- MISS – TIME – Chris Ritchey

  • 10. tony hines  |  December 24, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    Lorraine thanks for your kind words, and you know you and your family have massive support from all of us in the UK

  • […] fact by ignoring the motivation of an emotional abusive act they didn’t have to deal with […]

  • 13. DEC 19th- 2009 “The Issue” 2010 « That Woman’s Weblog  |  December 19, 2010 at 12:44 am

    […] a burial had taken place. A grandmother’s heart already broken was shattered even further and she wrote that day: Goodbye – My “luverlyful” grandson – Chris […]

  • 14. DEC 19th- 2009 “The Issue” 2010 « That Woman’s Weblog  |  December 19, 2010 at 12:44 am

    […] a burial had taken place. A grandmother’s heart already broken was shattered even further and she wrote that day: Goodbye – My “luverlyful” grandson – Chris […]

  • […] know that happiness since your “luverlyful grandson” – Chris passed from this world – has been fleeting and only sometimes seen in the […]

  • […] punctuated by wracking sobs. She could not understand why Chris” wife had been so cruel as to deny her her goodbye- she wondered Did WE really know Chris’s […]

  • […] closure snatched from you https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2009/12/19/goodbye-my-luvleyful-grandson-chris-ritchey/ and then weeks later whilst you are still reeling from the loss of a child, a denial of your […]

  • […] own Nana would say . I hadn’t seen her as crumbled into herself since the news delivered by Dr. Angela (Lombardi) ritchey DO that she was taking her grandson to ground. I quickly had her sit down and made a cup of tea ( well […]

  • […] to the “obscenity of cancer” – her farewell to him taken from her due to the “obscenity of control” and her independence/ home of 27 years to the “obscenity of selfishness” -amazingly she […]

  • 21. HAPPY HAPPY 95th Birthday Mum!!! | That Woman's Weblog  |  February 11, 2014 at 10:03 pm

    […] https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2009/12/19/goodbye-my-luvleyful-grandson-chris-ritchey/ was as she said the worst part of her life even losing just about every family member – brothers, sisters, mother, father, nieces and nephew could not compare. But through all these years my mum has kept her optimism, she forgives easily harms done to her and is a kind and gentle soul, never wishes ill of anyone.Her sense of family is to be envied! […]

  • […] December 19, 2009 at 9:33 pm 21 commentsEdit […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 230 other subscribers
December 2009
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031